top of page


115 Falconhead Dr., Burneyville, OK 73430  

(580) 276-9284


Graphic square image
Banner slide image
Banner black slide
Banner image

LPGA/PGA Tour at Falconhead



Pete Brown Diamond Jubilee May 1st

Honoring the PGA Tour's First African American Winner Where it Happened.

© Copyright

(Burneyville, OK, April 17, 2024) Golf writer and author Peter May will be a featured speaker May 1 at the Pete Brown Diamond Jubilee in Burneyville, OK, on the course where Brown won the 1964 Waco Turner Open.
It was Brown's first victory on the PGA Tour and the first ever by an African American golfer.
Why did it take so long for a Black golfer to win on the PGA Tour? Because the Caucasian-only bylaw of the PGA kept African American professionals on the sidelines from 1934-1962.
May's 2024 book, "Changing the Course -- How Charlie Sifford and Stanley Mosk Integrated the PGA" is a well-told story of the golfer and the attorney who finally combined to successfully force an end to the discriminatory policy.
Sifford became the first Black player to receive a PGA Tour playing card (1961), Brown was the second to join the Tour (1963). In an ironical twist the two pros were in the final threesome in the 1964 Waco Turner Open.
Sifford had also played in the 1962 Waco Turner Open, the first integrated professional event in Oklahoma. He tied for 21st Johnny Pott won the tournament.
May is a longtime sportswriter for the Boston Globe, NY Times, and ESPN.
May, PGA Tour professional Jim Dent, Ramona Harriet, historian of African American golf, Howard Williams, founder of the African American Sports Museum, Jay Upchurch, Norman, OK sportswriter, Sandy Cross of the PGA of America, and Dr. Michael Cooper of USGA will speak at 12:30 on the 18th green.
Other activities that day will include a ribbon cutting on "Life and Times of Pete Brown" exhibit in the museum at noon, refreshments and book-signing in the Country Club at 1:30, and the Pete Brown-Waco Turner Tribute 72nd Hole Scoring Challenge at 3 p.m. on Hole 18. Contests will vie to make par or better, like Pete Brown had to do to win the 1964 Waco Turner Open. But, the players will hit with the late Waco Turner's 1950s Wilson golf clubs.
American Nation Bank in southern Oklahoma is sponsor of the scoring contest. A prize of $500 will go to the winner plus $500 to the Pete Brown Scholarship in the Dayton Foundation.
Falconhead Resort is 12 miles west of Marietta, OK (Exit 15 on I-35) on Oklahoma Highway 32.

Museum Contacts:

Barbara Sessions, (580) 276-2333;

  David Wheat, (806) 340-2639;

Inside the Falconhead Resort Pro Shop are captivating displays of player and event memorabilia from the days professional golf was played in Burneyville, OK. The name of the course at that time was Turner's Lodge.

We are the rare example of a public-access course to have hosted BOTH the LPGA Tour and the PGA Tour. Come to Falconhead to play a Pro Tour Course -- Both Tours!


 The LPGA Tour opened the Turner's Lodge course in 1958 with the playing of the "Opie Turner Open," and returned in 1959. Then, the PGA Tour held the "Waco Turner Open" four years in a row from 1961-1964.


South-Central PGA championships took place eight consecutive years, and the Oklahoma Open was contested here in 1965. 

A 40-minute video, "Play Where the Greats Played," highlights the action.

Falconhead Museum Falconhead Pro Shop
00:00 / 00:44
LPGA Tour 1958
00:00 / 00:43
PGA Tour 1961-1964
00:00 / 00:51
More PGA Tour
00:00 / 00:53
Pete Brown 1964
00:00 / 00:44
Barbara Don Sessions Contact
Falconhead Museum Falconhead Pro Shop
Falconhead Pro Shop Museum
Jack Nicklaus Waco Turner Open Falconhead
South Central PGA event
Falconhead Golf Stats
Opie Turner Open PGA
Opie Turner Open Falconhead Golf
Waco Turner Open Results
Falconhead Golf Course PGA
Waco Turner Open Results
Turners Lodge
Susie Maxwell World Golf Hall of Fame

July 2020

Buster Cupit Turner Golf
Waco Turner photo
Home page Falconhead Resort
South Central PGA Championship Turner's Lodge
Opie Waco Turner Ardmore Open 1953
Waco Turner Golf Falconhead
FLGA September 2021 Tale Feathers
Turner Golf State Champions 2004
Turner Golf State Champions 2014
Turner Golf State Champions 2019
Turner Girls State Champions 2021
bottom of page