TURNER'S LODGE PRO GOLF MUSEUM
115 Falconhead Dr., Burneyville, OK 73430 • (580) 276-9284 • OPEN DAILY
LPGA/PGA Tour at Falconhead
RARE GOLF PHOTOS SHOW THERE'S NO COURSE LIKE THE FALCONHEAD COURSE!
WHEN FALCONHEAD RESORT
WAS HISTORIC TURNER'S LODGE
Among the displays are vintage pictures and related captions, newspaper accounts, and signature golf clubs from the Tour event winners.
Barbara Sessions, (580) 276-2333; email@example.com
David Wheat, (806) 340-2639; firstname.lastname@example.org
Tyrner's Lodge Pro Golf Museum
Turner's Lodge Pro Golf Museum at FalconheadResort
The museum is open! Inside the Falconhead Resort Pro Shop are captivating displays of player and event memorabilia from the days professional golf was played at Burneyville, OK. The name of the course at that time was Turner's Lodge.
The LPGA Tour opened the Turner's Lodge course in 1958 with the playing of the "Opie Turner Open," and returned in 1959. Then, the PGA Tour held the "Waco Turner Open" four years in a row from 1961-1964. South-Central PGA championships took place eight consecutive years, and the Oklahoma Open was contested here in1965.
A 40-minute video, "Play Where the Greats Played," highlights the action and points out this startling fact:
Falconhead and pricey Pebble Beach* are the only public courses to have held official events of both Tours. Where the LPGA Tour for women and the PGA Tour for men played the same site on other occasions (such as Dornick Hills, Ardmore, in 1954) the courses are private.
*LPGA Tour once played 18 holes at Pebble Beach in 1950 as a leg of a four-course "Weathervane" event that ended elsewhere. Our Tour stops stand alone as 54- or 72-hole events with champions.